显示标签为“facebook”的博文。显示所有博文
显示标签为“facebook”的博文。显示所有博文

2011年5月19日星期四

Facebook will be the first company roll out PhotoDNA technology

While it’s great for business to be the leader, it also means that the social network has billions of photos to monitor and make sure abide by the company’s rules. Palo Alto today announced it will implement PhotoDNA on its network to further its commitment to keeping children from being victimized.
Facebook will be the first company outside of Microsoft to roll out the Redmond company’s PhotoDNA technology — a move that the companies are describing as a big step in the fight against child pornography, given the social network’s large user base and its potential to prompt other online services to follow suit.
PhotoDNA, developed in conjunction with Dartmouth College, derives what amounts to a digital fingerprint from photographs to be able to find and identify other versions of the same images online. Microsoft previously donated to PhotoDNA to the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children.discount laptop batteriesAsus a32-f3 battery,Dell d620 battery
“We hope that Facebook’s adoption of PhotoDNA serves as a springboard for other online service providers to take advantage of the opportunity available through NCMEC’s PhotoDNA program and, in fact, we know that others are exploring the possibility right now,” writes Bill Harmon, an associate general counsel in Microsoft’s Digital Crimes Unit, in a post this morning.
Harmon notes that Microsoft has implemented PhotoDNA in Bing and SkyDrive, identifying ”horrific images on our services that we would have never found otherwise.” He adds, “To date, we have evaluated more than two billion images on our services using the PhotoDNA signatures provided by NCMEC, leading to the identification of more than 1,000 matches on SkyDrive and 1,500 matches through Bing’s image search indexing.”
Facebook will hold a live event at noon Pacific on Friday to talk about the PhotoDNA rollout. (Note: Day corrected since original post.)
Microsoft is a minority shareholder in Facebook. More in this New York Times post this morning. Here’s a Microsoft graphic showing how the technology works.
acebook has joined Microsoft in sublicensing the technology for use on its own network. The company is the first online service provider besides Microsoft to adopt the PhotoDNA technology. NCMEC is hoping that Facebook’s decision to join will significantly expand the program’s impact, not only because the website has 600 million users, but also because it may convince other companies to follow suit.
CloudTags: Facebook, adoption, PhotoDNA serves, fight, child pornography, Touch Screen Monitors,Philips LCD Monitor9.7 inch Touch Screen Tablet PCHp probook 4510s battery,  Hp pavilion dv6 batteryDell vostro 1500 battery


Electronics Wholesale News Related Articles:
Does Apple iPad 2 Best Choice for you?
The Reason for Advanced Lithium Ion Batteries Won’t Be Recycled
How to Monitor Your Laptop’s Battery Performance for Vista
Top Seven rumors include iPhone 5 will be a “mini iPad
Lithium-air battery increase the range of electric vehicles

2011年2月15日星期二

Four valuable yet hard-to-find settings For Your Facebook

1. Facebook check-ins and privacy

When Facebook announced its location-based check-in service, “Places,” in August 2010, it was quickly met with concerns about its people tagging feature.
With this feature enabled, your Facebook friends can tag you and “check you in” to a place. You receive a notification when you’re tagged, and an update is posted on your wall telling your friends where you are and who you’re with. You can remove the tag at any time.
To disable the feature, visit Account -> Privacy Settings -> Customize Settings. Scroll to the middle section—“things others share”—and click “Edit settings” next to “Friends can check me in to Places.”
Another important Facebook privacy setting to review if you use Places is whether or not you want to be included in a “People Here Now” list once you check in to a location.
By default, your name and Facebook profile picture appear in the list, which is visible to anyone—friend or not—who checks in to the same location. To disable this setting, visit Account -> Privacy Settings- > Customize Settings, and then uncheck the box at the bottom of the first section that reads, “Include me in ‘People Here Now’ after I check in.”

2. Revoking Facebook’s “Instant Personalization”

“Instant Personalization” debuted in April 2010 to plenty of criticism, and for good reason: The feature is confusing and Facebook’s online explanation does not make it clear how participating sites use your information.
If you visit one of the sites that supports Instant personalization—Bing, TripAdvisor, Rotten Tomatoes, Pandora, Yelp and others—and you’ve enabled the feature, you can see which of your friends have “liked” certain movies or news stories and browse reviews they posted. Additionally, Instant Personalization uses information you made public on your profile to recommend movies or songs, for example.

The first time you visit a site that supports Facebook Instant Personalization, a notification message appears that lets you turn off the feature, if you want.Welcome to wholesaleeshop.com.auWholesaleeShop.com.au Works with "Super Quality, Satisfactory Services"

wholesale high quality Touch Screen LCD MonitorsLaptop ComputersLaptop BatteriesLCD MonitorsUSB MonitorsON-Camera Field HD MonitorsCool Accessories for eBay sellers, distributors, store owners, retailers, drop shippers and small wholesalers at competitive prices.
Otherwise, to enable or disable Instant Personalization, you should visit your Facebook Privacy Settings page, then choose “Edit your settings” under “Apps and Websites” at the bottom. Scroll to the bottom, click “Edit Settings” next to “Instant personalization” and uncheck the box on the next page.

3. Facebook’s social ads and privacy

You might occasionally notice ads in the margins of your Facebook profile and elsewhere on the site. These “social ads” pair an advertisement with actions your friends have taken, such as liking a Page.
A few important things to understand about social ads: Advertisers can’t see information about you or your friends, nor do they have access to your private information. Facebook doesn’t sell your information to advertisers and says it won’t in the future.
If you participate in social ads, your friends might see information about you that relates to the ads they’re seeing. This may be a line that says you have “liked” a certain page, or they could include your profile photo with your name next to the ad. Here’s how to opt-out of social ads displaying your “likes.”
Once again, visit your Account Settings and click the “Facebook Ads” tab. From the drop-down menu, choose either “No one” or “Only my friends,” depending on your preference.
Note: A disclaimer on this settings page explains that while Facebook does not give third-party applications or ad networks the right to use your name or picture in ads, “If this is allowed in the future, this setting will govern the usage of your information.” So if you don’t ever want your picture being used as an advertisement, ensure this setting is up to date.

4. Information accessible through your friends

With all the time spent trying to shore up the privacy and security of your own Facebook profile, there’s an important setting you need to remember to update to help ensure that your friends don’t expose information about you.
Dell gd761Dell gd761 Battery 7800mAh, AU $93.66
When your Facebook friends use games and applications, those appls can request information about other friends—i.e. you—even if you don’ t use the app. This information can include your bio, photos, political views and places you check-in to.
To prevent this, visit Account -> Privacy Settings => Apps and Websites. Click “Edit Settings” next to “Info accessible through your friends” and uncheck any necessary boxes.
Note that while you can prevent your friends’ applications from accessing most of your information, your name, profile picture, gender, networks and user ID (along with any other information you’ve set to “Everyone”) can be accessed by Facebook apps. The only way to ensure all your information is private is by turning off “platform applications and websites.”
Other Business News:
Related Articles:
Resource From: